(PAGASA 24-HOUR PUBLIC WEATHER FORECAST as of Sunday, 28 May 2023) At 3:00 AM today, the center of the eye of Typhoon "BETTY" {MAWAR} was estimated based on all available data at 825 km East of Northern Luzon (17.1°N, 129.5°E), with maximum sustained winds of 175 km/h near the center and gustiness of up to 215 km/h. It is moving West Northwestward at 20 km/h. Southwesterly Windflow affecting the western sections of Southern Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. Butuan City, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur will experience partly cloudy to cloudy skies with isolated rainshowers or thunderstorms due to Trough of TY BETTY / Southwesterly Windflow. Possible flash floods or landslides during severe thunderstorms. Moderate to Strong winds coming from West to Southwest will prevail with Moderate to Rough seas / (2.5 to 5.0 meters).

Tuesday, April 25, 2023

SURSECO-I inaugurates new sub-station in Barobo

BAROBO, Surigao del Sur -- The Surigao del Sur Electric Cooperative-I (SURSECO-I) officially inaugurated its new Barobo Substation located at Sitio Pague-pague, Barangay Dughan, Barobo on April 20, 2023, which was officiated by the president of the Board of Director, Fr. Edgar Bonette B. Clar.

Local chief executive of Barobo, Glaiza Jane Polizon-Lanetethe and Barobo Mayor Joey S. Pama, graced the event. Dughan Barangay Captain Abdias Maceda, and the Project Contractor, CEPALCO Energy Services Corporation (CESCO) also attended the momentous event.

Amidst the challenges brought about by the changing weather conditions in the past year and the birth pains of the equipment, it was successfully energized on 28 January 2023.

The new 10MVA Barobo Substation now distributes power and serves the growing demand of electricity in  the municipalities of Tagbina and Barobo.

This proactive measure of SURSECO-I will assure continuous delivery of efficient and reliable power supply in the two municipalities.

Aiming to bring its services to greater heights, the management of SURSECO I will continue to ensure the reliability of its distribution system by embarking on innovative projects. 

Meanwhile, the SURSECO-I has also extended its gratitude to the National Electrification Administration (NEA), CESCO, 2nd District Congressional Office, provincial government of Surigao del Sur, and the local government of Barobo and Tagbina for another accomplishment. (NGPB/SURSECO-I/PIA-Surigao del Sur)