(PAGASA 24-HOUR PUBLIC WEATHER FORECAST as of Tuesday, 05 December 2023) Easterlies affecting the country. Butuan City, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur will experience partly cloudy to cloudy skies with isolated rainshowers or thunderstorms due to Easterlies / Localized Thunderstorms. Possible flash floods or landslides during severe thunderstorms. Moderate to Strong winds coming from East will prevail with Moderate to Rough seas (1.2 to 3.1 meters).

Friday, June 3, 2022

Earthquakes jolt some parts of SurSur and nearby provinces, no damages were reported

By: Grace P. Barcena

TANDAG CITY, Surigao del Sur – At least two earthquakes rocked parts of Surigao del Sur province and nearby provinces first felt around 7:55 P.M. on June 2, and 2:54 A.M. on June 3, 2022, respectively.

Based on the Earthquake Information No.1 dated June 2, 2022 (07:55 PM) a 4.8 Magnitude, tectonic in origin with a depth of 059 kilometers was spotted in the 08.98°N, 126.30°E - 002 km N 55° East of Bayabas, Surigao del Sur.
It has revealed the reported Intensities as follows
●Intensity IV in Tandag City, Surigao del Sur
● Intensity III in Rosario, Agusan del Sur
Instrumental Intensities also reported as:
● Intensity I
 in Tandag City, Surigao del Sur;  Nabunturan, Davao de Oro; Cabadbaran City, Agusan del Norte.

Another shock was felt at around 2:54 A.M. on June 3. Earthquake Information No.2 dated June 3, 2022, revealed that it has a Magnitude of 5.6, with 016 km in depth, located in the 08.94°N, 126.58°E - 031 km N 85° East of Cagwait, Surigao del Sur.
Reported Intensities recorded:
● Intensity IV in Cagwait,  Bayabas and San Agustin all in  Surigao del Sur province;
● Intensity III in Bislig City, Surigao del Sur; and Rosario, Agusan del Sur

The Instrumental Intensities also reported:
● Intensity III in  Tandag City, Surigao del Sur; Nabunturan, Davao de Oro
● Intensity II  in Bislig City, Surigao del Sur;  Cabadbaran City, Agusan del Norte; while
● Intensity I recorded in  Gingoog City, Misamis Oriental; Malaybalay City, Bukidnon;  Surigao City;  Abuyog, Leyte; and Malungon, Sarangani.

The Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (PHIVOLCS) record revealed, that after the second tremors on the dawn of June 3, there were 15 earthquakes recorded with a magnitude of 2 as the lowest and 3.8 as the highest magnitude, 14 of which originated or were located in Cagwait, Surigao del Sur and one in Tandag City, as of 9:15 A.M today, June 3. However, no intensity recorded in the province.

The Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management (PDRRM) Council of Surigao del Sur thru the PDRRM Office acting officer Alex Araña confirmed that  no damage has been reported in the affected areas in Surigao del Sur as of 10 AM today. (PIA Surigao del Sur)