(PAGASA 24-HOUR PUBLIC WEATHER FORECAST as of Thursday, 01 December 2022) Shear Line affecting the eastern section of Luzon. Intertropical Convergence Zone (ITCZ) affecting Mindanao. Butuan City, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur will experience cloudy skies with scattered rainshowers and thunderstorms due ITCZ. Possible flash floods or landslides due to moderate to at times heavy rains. Light to moderate winds coming from East to Northeast will prevail with slight to moderate seas / (0.6 to 2.5 meters).

Monday, November 8, 2021

DPWH-13 turns over evacuation center to LGU-Lianga

LIANGA, Surigao del Sur -- The Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH)-Caraga turned over a regional evacuation center to the local government unit (LGU) of Lianga in Surigao del Sur on October 19, 2021, situated in Brgy. Diatagon.    

The 1,450-square-meter gymnasium-sized multi-purpose evacuation center will serve as a temporary shelter for those who will be displaced during calamities as well as a venue for major community events and activities. 

With a cost of Php 34,481,934.10, the facility is equipped with a male and female toilet and bathrooms, kitchen, a spacious gym, administrative offices, clinic room, prayer room, dressing room, breastfeeding room, and playroom. There is also an area for laundry, storage, and reception. The center is also equipped with a generator set and other common amenities.  

The 13 barangays of the municipality will benefit from the said project.  

Lianga Mayor Novelita Sarmen expressed her gratitude to the DPWH for providing a sturdy and well-equipped multi-purpose evacuation center in their municipality.

The cutting of ribbon, blessing, and turn–over ceremony was officially attended by the municipal mayor, DPWH-Caraga regional office personnel headed by Engineer Ruel Nazareno, Contractor LM Construction & General Marketing, Brgy. Diatagon punong barangay Remegio B. Pareja, and staff from the LGU.  The blessing was officiated by Rev. Father Leonardo T. Orillaneda. (DPWH-Caraga/PIA-Surigao del Sur)