(PAGASA 24-HOUR PUBLIC WEATHER FORECAST as of Thursday, 18 July 2024) At 3:00 AM today, the Low Pressure Area (LPA) was estimated based on all available data at 310 km East Northeast of Davao City (8.3°N, 128.2°E). Southwest Monsoon affecting the western sections of Southern Luzon and Mindanao. ๐—™๐—ข๐—ฅ๐—˜๐—–๐—”๐—ฆ๐—ง ๐—ช๐—˜๐—”๐—ง๐—›๐—˜๐—ฅ ๐—–๐—ข๐—ก๐——๐—œ๐—ง๐—œ๐—ข๐—ก: Butuan City, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur will experience cloudy skies with scattered rainshowers and thunderstorms due to LPA. Possible flash floods or landslides due to moderate to heavy rains. ๐—™๐—ข๐—ฅ๐—˜๐—–๐—”๐—ฆ๐—ง ๐—ช๐—œ๐—ก๐—— ๐—”๐—ก๐—— ๐—–๐—ข๐—”๐—ฆ๐—ง๐—”๐—Ÿ ๐—ช๐—”๐—ง๐—˜๐—ฅ ๐—–๐—ข๐—ก๐——๐—œ๐—ง๐—œ๐—ข๐—ก: Light to Moderate winds coming from Northeast to Northwest will prevail with slight to moderate seas (0.6 to 2.5 meters).

Monday, October 11, 2021

DA, BFAR honors Caraga top farmers, fisherfolk implementers in SurSur

BISLIG CITY, Surigao del Sur – The Department of Agriculture (DA)-Caraga and Bureau of Aquatic Resources (BFAR) - Caraga have recognized the exemplary farmers, and fisherfolk-partners of the Special Area for Agricultural Development (SAAD) Program during the SAAD Saga regional event held at the Bislig City Cultural and Sports Center (BCCSC) in Bislig, this province on October 5, 2021.

Photo Credit to DA-Caraga
Selected representatives from the 12 groups and individual farmers and fisherfolk assisted by the SAAD Program in the Caraga Region have joined the awarding activities.

The farmers’ association awardees were evaluated based on their project management, accomplishments and short-term results, innovativeness, and sustainability efforts with the program implementation.

The awardees are as follows for the t๐—ผ๐—ฝ ๐—ณ๐—ฎ๐—ฟ๐—บ๐—ฒ๐—ฟ ๐—ถ๐—บ๐—ฝ๐—น๐—ฒ๐—บ๐—ฒ๐—ป๐˜๐—ฒ๐—ฟ๐˜€ (๐——๐—”):

·  1st Placer - Cancavan Corn Growers Association (21 members) – Carmen

·  2nd Placer - Culiram SAAD Abaca Farmers’ Association (66 members) – Talacogon

·  3rd Placer - Balete Chicken Growers Association (31 members) - Bayabas

Finalists (in random order):

·  Muritula USAD Farmers’ Association (80 members) – San Luis

·  Mag-uumang Manobo sa Hinapoyan Association (50 members) - Carmen

·  Cosep Peoples’ Organization (54 members) – Rosario

๐—ง๐—ผ๐—ฝ ๐—ณ๐—ถ๐˜€๐—ต๐—ฒ๐—ฟ๐—ณ๐—ผ๐—น๐—ธ ๐—ถ๐—บ๐—ฝ๐—น๐—ฒ๐—บ๐—ฒ๐—ป๐˜๐—ฒ๐—ฟ๐˜€ (๐—•๐—™๐—”๐—ฅ)

·  1st Place - Marjhun Samson (individual) – Esperanza

·  2nd Place - Doรฑa Flavia Farmers and Fisherfolk’ Association (84 members) – San Luis

·  3rd Place - Soong Fisherfolk Association II (20 members) - Tago

Finalists (in random order)

·  Vosbogart Acop (individual) – Sta. Josefa

·  Samahan ng mga Mangingisda sa Barcelona (23 members) - Lingig

·  Joel Gatillo (individual) – Bayabas

The report said, that the top three winners received the plaque of recognition and certificate of appreciation for each of the finalists.

While the winning farmers' associations from the DA have also received Php 250,000.00 worth of interventions for the grand prize, Php 150,000.00 for the 2nd place, and Php 120,000.00 for the 3rd place.

The three remaining finalists took home the Php 60,000.00 worth of interventions as consolation prizes, it was learned. (NGBT/PIA-Surigao del Sur)