(PAGASA 24-HOUR PUBLIC WEATHER FORECAST as of Tuesday, 18 June 2024) Southwest Monsoon affecting the western sections of Southern Luzon and Visayas. 𝗙𝗒π—₯π—˜π—–π—”π—¦π—§ π—ͺπ—˜π—”π—§π—›π—˜π—₯ π—–π—’π—‘π——π—œπ—§π—œπ—’π—‘: Butuan City, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur will experience partly cloudy to cloudy skies with isolated rainshowers or thunderstorms due to Localized Thunderstorms. Possible flash floods or landslides during severe thunderstorms. 𝗙𝗒π—₯π—˜π—–π—”π—¦π—§ π—ͺπ—œπ—‘π—— 𝗔𝗑𝗗 π—–π—’π—”π—¦π—§π—”π—Ÿ π—ͺπ—”π—§π—˜π—₯ π—–π—’π—‘π——π—œπ—§π—œπ—’π—‘: Light to moderate winds coming from Southeast to South will prevail with slight to moderate seas (0.6 to 2.1 meters).

Thursday, 7 December 2023

12 LGUs in Caraga receive prestigious local governance awards

BUTUAN CITY -- The Council of Good Local Governance (CGLG), chaired by the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) finally released the list of local government unit passers of the CY 2023 Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG).

DILG-Caraga warmly congratulated and commended all of the 12 LGUs in the region that were conferred with the 2023 Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) Award, to wit: 

1.    Municipality of Trento, Agusan del Sur

2.    Municipality of Sibagat, Agusan del Sur

3.    Municipality of Loreto, Agusan del Sur

4.    Municipality of Tubay, Agusan del Norte

5.    Municipality of Santiago, Agusan del Norte

6.    Municipality of Cagdianao, Dinagat Islands

7.    Municipality of Claver, Surigao del Norte 

8.    Tandag City, Surigao del Sur

9.    Municipality of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur

10. Municipality of Carmen, Surigao del Sur

11. Municipality of Cagwait, Surigao del Sur

12. Municipality of Carrascal, Surigao del Sur

As this is the second year of implementation of Republic Act No. 11292 or the SGLG Act, the accolade carried on with the “all-In” assessment approach, where an LGU must pass all 10 governance areas: (1) Financial administration and sustainability; (2) Disaster preparedness; (3) Social protection and sensitivity; (4) Health compliance and responsiveness; (5) Sustainable education; (6) Business-friendliness and competitiveness; (7) Safety, peace and order; (8) Environmental management; (9) Tourism, heritage development, culture and arts; and (10) Youth development.

This year, performance measures are further upgraded to also gauge outcome-oriented efforts of the LGUs. As the seal maintains its progressive nature, its response to various concerns in local administration and service delivery remains to be anchored on its thrust of giving distinction and incentivizing good performance.

With the setting in of the new administration and the adoption of the Philippine Development Plan 2023-2028, the seal also anticipates and seeks to influence potential actions of LGUs in response to these changes through direction-setting and strengthened performance information, as we all look forward to a more prosperous, inclusive, and resilient society– all through tapat at mahusay na pamahalaang lokal!

The 12 LGU awardees of Caraga will receive the Seal / Marker on December 14, 2023 at the Fiesta Pavilion of The Manila Hotel. The marker will be received by the city / municipal mayors with their SGLG focal person and DILG field officer.

The Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) as an institutionalized award, incentive, honor, and recognition-based program continues to uphold its commitment in bringing about people-oriented reforms that will enable the local government units to foster a culture of good governance amid the challenges in the local government landscape. (LGOO VI Florian Faith Jr. P. Bayawa, DILG-Caraga/PIA-Caraga)