(PAGASA 24-HOUR PUBLIC WEATHER FORECAST as of Saturday, 22 June 2024) Southwest Monsoon affecting the western sections of Southern Luzon and Visayas. 𝗙𝗒π—₯π—˜π—–π—”π—¦π—§ π—ͺπ—˜π—”π—§π—›π—˜π—₯ π—–π—’π—‘π——π—œπ—§π—œπ—’π—‘: Butuan City, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur will experience partly cloudy to cloudy skies with isolated rainshowers or thunderstorms due to Localized Thunderstorms. Possible flash floods or landslides during severe thunderstorms. 𝗙𝗒π—₯π—˜π—–π—”π—¦π—§ π—ͺπ—œπ—‘π—— 𝗔𝗑𝗗 π—–π—’π—”π—¦π—§π—”π—Ÿ π—ͺπ—”π—§π—˜π—₯ π—–π—’π—‘π——π—œπ—§π—œπ—’π—‘: Light to moderate winds coming from Southeast to South will prevail with slight to moderate seas (0.6 to 2.1 meters).

Thursday, 7 December 2023

Caraga child-friendly LGUs receive DILG’s seal of good local governance

By Jennifer P. Gaitano

BUTUAN CITY – The Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Caraga recognized a total of thirty-nine (39) local government units that passed the Child-Friendly Local Governance Audit (CFLGA) for the year 2022, in time with the ‘Araw ng Parangal’ 31st National Children’s Month culmination program, at the Pavilion, Watergate Hotel, this city.

On behalf of DILG-Caraga regional director Maria Loisella Lucino, assistant regional director Donald Seronay, presented the winning LGUs from the different provinces of the region.

“It’s an honor to present to you the local government units that have been supportive of the DILG’s annual conduct of the Child-Friendly Local Governance Audit. Most of these LGUs have been consistent in implementing relevant programs for the protection and promotion of rights and welfare of the sector. Congratulations to all our awardees!” said Seronay.

In the highly-urbanized city category, Butuan City received the award with 90.97% rating. For the province of Agusan del Norte, the following municipalities and city were awarded: Jabonga (97.08%); Nasipit (93.00%); Cabadbaran City (92.11%); Tubay (89.50%); Las Nieves (88.20%); Santiago (88.00%); Buenavista (87.40%); and Kitcharao (87.27%).

For Agusan del Sur, these are the following: Trento (97.00%); Prosperidad (94.50%); Loreto (93.68%); Talacogon (92.00%); Rosario (90.17%); La Paz (90.00%); Sibagat (89.72%); Esperanza (89.63%); San Luis (88.40%); Bunawan (86.07%); and Bayugan City (85.56%).

For the province of Dinagat Islands, there were three out of seven LGUs, to wit: San Jose (89.92%); Cagdianao (89.08%); and Basilisa (87.61).

There are also ten LGUs awarded from Surigao del Norte, these are as follows: Bacuag (96.20%); Tubod (95. 39%); Sison (94.36%); Malimono (93.00%); San Benito (92.50%); Claver (91.78%); Gigaquit (89.21%); Mainit (87.83%); Surigao City 85.65%); and Placer (81.86%).

Six LGUs have received the same award from the DILG, and these are the following: Cagwait (94.50%); Tandag City (93.00%); Hinatuan (90.50%); San Miguel (90.00%); Cortes (89.75%); and Lianga (89.74%).

Special awards were also given to the province of Agusan del Sur as Best PCPC for being an ideal Provincial Council for the Protection of Children (PCPC) and the greatest number of 2021-2022 CFLGA passers. The PCPC Best Practice Award was also given to the province of Agusan del Norte for having local search for CGLG institutionalized, and the highest percentage increase in the number of CFLGA passers from 2021-2022. 

Governor Santiago Cane, Jr., expressed his gratitude to the DILG Caraga and the members of the Regional Inter-Agency Monitoring Task Force (RIMTF) for recognizing the LGUs and the province in the CFLG. He also extended his congratulations to all the awardees and urged them to gear up its efforts in the implementation of the various programs for the children sector. 

CFLGA is a mandatory audit chaired by the DILG in support of the country’s commitments to the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC). It covers all 145 cities and 1,489 municipalities nationwide. This audit is adopted by the Council for the Welfare of Children (CWC) in the conferment of the CFLG and by the Office of the President (OP) for the Presidential Award for Child-Friendly Cities and Municipalities.

Good governance has eight major characteristics: participatory, consensus-oriented, accountable, transparent, responsive, effective and efficient, equitable and inclusive and follows the rule of law. (JPG, PIA-Caraga)