(PAGASA 24-HOUR PUBLIC WEATHER FORECAST as of Friday, 19 April 2024) Easterlies affecting the country. 𝗙𝗒π—₯π—˜π—–π—”π—¦π—§ π—ͺπ—˜π—”π—§π—›π—˜π—₯ π—–π—’π—‘π——π—œπ—§π—œπ—’π—‘: Butuan City, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur will experience partly cloudy to cloudy skies with isolated rain showers or thunderstorms due to Easterlies. Possible flash floods or landslides during severe thunderstorms. 𝗙𝗒π—₯π—˜π—–π—”π—¦π—§ π—ͺπ—œπ—‘π—— 𝗔𝗑𝗗 π—–π—’π—”π—¦π—§π—”π—Ÿ π—ͺπ—”π—§π—˜π—₯ π—–π—’π—‘π——π—œπ—§π—œπ—’π—‘: Light to moderate winds coming from East to Northeast will prevail with slight to moderate seas (0.6 to 2.1 meters).

Wednesday, 16 August 2023

Regional disaster council awards 19 local DRRMCs in SurSur

TANDAG CITY, Surigao del Sur -- The Surigao del Sur Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council  chaired by Governor Alexander T. Pimentel, and nine other local DRRM Councils in the province received the “Beyond Compliant” award during the Caraga Regional Awarding of Gawad KALASAG (KAlamidad at Sakuna LAbanan SAriling Galing ang Kaligtasan)  Seal for Local Government Units and Special Awards in DRRM and Humanitarian Assistance for CY 2023,  on August 14, 2023, at Almont Inland Resort, Butuan City, as spearheaded by the Caraga Regional DRRM Council led by the Office of Civil Defense (OCD) Caraga.

Other eight local DRRM councils received the same award, to wit:
1. Tandag City;
2. Cagwait;
3. Carmen;
4. Carrascal;
5. Cortes;
6. Hinatuan;
7. Lanuza;
8. Marihatag; and
9. Tagbina.

Further, the local government unit of Cagwait of this province was declared as the Maharlika Awardee, as the most distinguished local DRRMC for garnering the highest score of 3.0. in the region.

The local DRRMCs of Barobo; Bayabas; Bislig City; Cantilan; Lianga; Madrid; and Tago were awarded as “Fully Compliant,” while the local DRRMCs of Lingig; and San Miguel were recognized as Partially Compliant.

The RDRRMC revealed the Gawad KALASAG seals and plaques were received by the local chief executives of the five provinces, six cities, and sixty-three municipalities), school heads, hospital directors, and presidents/executive directors of the organizations.

Gawad KALASAG is an annual recognition program in the Philippines that recognizes outstanding efforts in disaster risk reduction and management (DRRM) and humanitarian assistance. The awards are given to individuals, groups, organizations, and local government units that have shown excellence in disaster preparedness, response, recovery, and mitigation. (NGPB, PIA-Surigso del Sur)