(PAGASA 24-HOUR PUBLIC WEATHER FORECAST as of Wednesday, 01 February 2023) Northeast Monsoon affecting Luzon and Visayas. Butuan City, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur and Dinagat Islands will experience Cloudy skies with scattered rainshowers and thunderstorms due to Shear Line. Possible flash floods or landslides due to moderate to at times heavy rains. Moderate to Strong winds coming from Northeast to North will prevail with Moderate to Rough seas / (2.5 to 4.0 meters).

Thursday, June 16, 2022

PhilRice recognizes the efforts of SurSur Province and 2 more LGUs

By: Nida Grace P. Barcena

TANDAG CITY, Surigao del Sur
-- The PhilRice-Agusan led by Director Caesar Joventino Tado awarded the province of Surigao del Sur as the Best Local Government Unit (LGU) Partner among the 27 provinces in Mindanao, under the Large-Scale Category.

The recognition centered on its exemplary efforts extended in helping the Department of Agriculture (DA)-PhilRice program implementation, citing the Rice Competitiveness Enhancement Fund (RCEF) or Rice Fund during the 2022 dry season.

 The Plaque and Certificate of recognition received by Governor Alexander T. Pimentel, and Provincial Agriculturist Marcos Quico, during the kick-off celebration of the 5-day event for the 62nd Araw ng Surigao del Sur, at the Surigao del Sur Sports Complex in Tandag City on June 15, 2022.

The LGU-Barobo (for Small-Scale Category) and LGU-Tago (Large-Scale Category) all in Surigao del Sur were also awarded as Best LGU Partners by the PhilRice Agusan, for their exemplary effort of support to its implementation in the RCEF-Seed and Extension Program in their respective coverage area.

Barobo Mayor Joey Pama, with Johnny Ramos of LGU-Barobo and Mun. Administrator Herbert Luna with 1st District Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member and newly-elected Tago Vice Mayor Henrich Pimentel of LGU-Tago received the award from the PhilRice Agusan on the same day and venue. (PIA-Surigao del Sur)