(PAGASA 24-HOUR PUBLIC WEATHER FORECAST as of Sunday, 24 September 2023) Intertropical Convergence Zone (ITCZ) affecting Southern Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. Butuan City, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur will experience Cloudy skies with scattered rainshowers and thunderstorms due to Intertropical Convergence Zone (ITCZ). Possible flash floods or landslides due to moderate to at times heavy rains. Light to moderate winds coming from Southwest will prevail with slight to moderate seas (0.6 to 1.5 meters).

Wednesday, May 18, 2022

1,734 farmers benefit one-stop-shop in Cantilan town

CANTILAN, Surigao del Sur – Some 1,734 rice farmers were served and benefitted from different programs extended to them by the national government thru the Department of Agriculture (DA) and the local government unit of Cantilan (LGU-Cantilan).

Photo credit to LGU-Cantilan, SDS
Based on the report, the LGU through the Municipal Agriculture Office (MAO) headed by Ceasar Q. Blanco, successfully implemented the Rice Competitiveness Enhancement Fund (RCEF), a Seed Component Program of the DA that aimed to reduce the production cost of rice farmers by providing high-quality seeds such as NSIC Rc160, Rc216, and Rc442.

The insurance of the crops and the Rice Crop Manager (RCM) information dissemination are included in the one-stop shop. The RCM accordingly, provided farmers with field-specific crop and nutrient management recommendations for their rice field through a one-page printout and text messages to the farmer’s phone.

Meanwhile, on May 17, the LGU-Cantilan spearheaded the provision of one-peso incentives, the second payout to 147 rice farmers through its initiative on the “Fresh Palay Subsidy Program” to augment farmers' low income brought by low farm gate prices of fresh palay. The LGU has allocated the amount of P1,656,654.00 for the said program.

The schedule for the next batch of payout is set for May 23, 2022, Monday at the Cantilan Gymnasium, it was learned. (NGPB/PIA-Surigao del Sur)