(PAGASA 24-HOUR PUBLIC WEATHER FORECAST as of Thursday, 18 July 2024) At 3:00 AM today, the Low Pressure Area (LPA) was estimated based on all available data at 310 km East Northeast of Davao City (8.3°N, 128.2°E). Southwest Monsoon affecting the western sections of Southern Luzon and Mindanao. 𝗙𝗒π—₯π—˜π—–π—”π—¦π—§ π—ͺπ—˜π—”π—§π—›π—˜π—₯ π—–π—’π—‘π——π—œπ—§π—œπ—’π—‘: Butuan City, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur will experience cloudy skies with scattered rainshowers and thunderstorms due to LPA. Possible flash floods or landslides due to moderate to heavy rains. 𝗙𝗒π—₯π—˜π—–π—”π—¦π—§ π—ͺπ—œπ—‘π—— 𝗔𝗑𝗗 π—–π—’π—”π—¦π—§π—”π—Ÿ π—ͺπ—”π—§π—˜π—₯ π—–π—’π—‘π——π—œπ—§π—œπ—’π—‘: Light to Moderate winds coming from Northeast to Northwest will prevail with slight to moderate seas (0.6 to 2.5 meters).

Thursday, May 12, 2022

DepEd-13 commenced 2022 NLA

BUTUAN CITY -- With the celebration of the National Literacy Week and International Literacy Day, the Department of Education (DepEd)-Caraga through the Literacy Coordination Council (LCC) commenced the preparatory measures for the 2022 National Literacy Awards (NLA).

The National Literacy Awards (NLA)is a biennial activity that recognizes the exemplary literacy practices of various outstanding individuals, institutions, Local Government Units (LGUs), and Non-government organizations (NGOs) that contributed to eradicating illiteracy in their communities. This is also to encourage the development of creative, innovative, and indigenous literacy programs.

The Literacy Coordination Council has set the following categories:

  • Outstanding Literacy Program;
  • Outstanding Local Government Unit (LGU);
  • Highly Urbanized City;
  • Component City/Independent Component City;
  • First to Third Class Municipality, and;
  • Fourth to Sixth Class Municipality.

The Local Government Units (LGU) and Non-government Organizations (NGOs) that have sustained their exemplary performances for three years after winning shall be awarded a Special Award of Excellence in Literacy. 

The First-place winners for having maintained their rank for three years, consecutive or non-consecutive,  will be eligible for the Hall of Fame Awards.

Meanwhile, the Literacy Coordination Council (LCC) may recommend any outstanding literacy program implemented by NLA awardees to the UNESCO International Literacy Prize based on which category it will fit. 

The 2022 National Literacy Awards (NLA) will be held in September 2022. (MCeledeΓ±a/DepEd-Caraga/PIA-Caraga)