(PAGASA 24-HOUR PUBLIC WEATHER FORECAST as of Thursday, 13 June 2024) Easterlies affecting the eastern sections of Southern Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. 𝗙𝗒π—₯π—˜π—–π—”π—¦π—§ π—ͺπ—˜π—”π—§π—›π—˜π—₯ π—–π—’π—‘π——π—œπ—§π—œπ—’π—‘: Butuan City, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur will experience partly cloudy to cloudy skies with isolated rainshowers or thunderstorms due to Easterlies. Possible flash floods or landslides during severe thunderstorms. 𝗙𝗒π—₯π—˜π—–π—”π—¦π—§ π—ͺπ—œπ—‘π—— 𝗔𝗑𝗗 π—–π—’π—”π—¦π—§π—”π—Ÿ π—ͺπ—”π—§π—˜π—₯ π—–π—’π—‘π——π—œπ—§π—œπ—’π—‘: Light to moderate winds coming from Southwest to Southeast will prevail with slight to moderate seas (0.6 to 2.1 meters).

Thursday, January 4, 2024

Militia ng Bayan surrenders to Agusan Norte police

BUTUAN CITY -- After several weeks of conversation, a New People’s Army (NPA) in the Barrio (Militia ng Bayan) under Sandatahang Yunit Pampropaganda, Guerilla Front 4A, North Central Mindanao Regional Committee, surrendered to the local police in Nasipit town, Agusan del Norte on January 2, who brought along with him an improvised shotgun.

Police Brigadier General Kirby John B. Kraft, Philippine National Police (PNP) Caraga regional director said that adding to the new list of communist terrorist group (CTG) surrenderers was alias Ben, a non-periodic status report listed, 58 years old, and resident of the aforesaid municipality. 

Personnel of Nasipit Municipal Police Station were in contact with alias Ben since December 2023 until he decided to return to the folds of the law. 

“I applaud the continuing efforts of our local police to convince those who are still in the armed struggle to leave and choose the path towards peace. Let us pursue our campaign to bring them back to their families and help them become productive members of society,” Dir. Kraft said.

In December 2023, PNP - Caraga recorded 60 CTG surrenderers composed of regular members, Militia ng Bayan, and CTG supporters. (PNP-Caraga/PIA-Agusan del Norte)