(PAGASA 24-HOUR PUBLIC WEATHER FORECAST as of Thursday, 30 June 2022) At 3:00 AM today, a Low Pressure Area (LPA) was estimated based on all available data at 1,020 km East of Northern Luzon (17.2°N, 131.3°E). Southwest Monsoon affecting Southern Luzon and Western Visayas. ACTIVE TROPICAL CYCLONE OUTSIDE PAR AS OF 3:00 AM TODAY TROPICAL DEPRESSION (FORMERLY "CALOY") LOCATION: 565 KM WEST OF CENTRAL LUZON (15.4N, 114.7E) MAXIMUM SUSTAINED WINDS: 55 KPH GUSTINESS: UP TO 70 KPH MOVEMENT: WEST SOUTHWEST AT 40 KPH. Caraga region will experience partly cloudy to cloudy skies with isolated rainshowers or thunderstorms due to Localized Thunderstorm. Possible flash floods or landslides during severe thunderstorms. Light to Moderate winds coming from Southwest to Southeast will prevail with slight to moderate seas (0.6 to 2.1 meters).

Tuesday, January 11, 2022

SurSur hosts first ever search for best public toilet

TAGBINA, Surigao del Sur -- The provincial government of Surigao del Sur, through the Provincial Tourism Office (PTO), hosted its first ever search for the Best Public Toilet in the province in the months of November and December. 

The search puts a premium on the importance of maintaining public toilets, which is, among others, an essential component in maintaining and boosting the tourism industry in the province.

"It is a basic yet vital component in the tourism industry that can make or break the tourist experience by using toilets, especially those made for public use," said Mary Vil Cruz-Chan, provincial tourism officer. 

Competing local government units must be able to ensure that their public toilets are "clean, hygienic, complete with various amenities and facilities, located conveniently, well maintained and using proper waste management systems," according to Cruz-Chan. The PTO used the ASEAN Public Toilet Standard as the basis for judging.

Ten local government units competed during the elimination round, conducted on November 22-25, 2021. The contenders were the municipalities of Carrascal, Cortes, Lanuza, Madrid, Tandag City, Cagwait, Marihatag, Bayabas, San Agustin, and Tagbina.

The number of contenders was reduced by half on the final round on December 14, 2021, with four municipalities declared as runners up and the municipality of Tagbina declared as champion, as follows: 

1st Place: LGU - Tagbina, received P25,000.00 and plaque;
2nd Place: LGU - San Agustin, received P20,000.00 and plaque;
3rd Place: LGU - Madrid, received P15,000.00 and plaque;
4th Place: LGU - Lanuza, received P10,000.00 and plaque; and
5th Place: LGU – Bayabas received P5,000.00 and plaque. (PIA-Surigao del Sur)