(PAGASA 24-HOUR PUBLIC WEATHER FORECAST as of Saturday, 22 June 2024) Southwest Monsoon affecting the western sections of Southern Luzon and Visayas. 𝗙𝗒π—₯π—˜π—–π—”π—¦π—§ π—ͺπ—˜π—”π—§π—›π—˜π—₯ π—–π—’π—‘π——π—œπ—§π—œπ—’π—‘: Butuan City, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur will experience partly cloudy to cloudy skies with isolated rainshowers or thunderstorms due to Localized Thunderstorms. Possible flash floods or landslides during severe thunderstorms. 𝗙𝗒π—₯π—˜π—–π—”π—¦π—§ π—ͺπ—œπ—‘π—— 𝗔𝗑𝗗 π—–π—’π—”π—¦π—§π—”π—Ÿ π—ͺπ—”π—§π—˜π—₯ π—–π—’π—‘π——π—œπ—§π—œπ—’π—‘: Light to moderate winds coming from Southeast to South will prevail with slight to moderate seas (0.6 to 2.1 meters).

Wednesday, March 10, 2021


Senator Richard J. Gordon on Tuesday voted to adopt a resolution commending the seven recipients this year of the Ten Outstanding Young Men award.

Gordon noted that despair and desperation can easily set in with the country facing disasters and disease, hence, the TOYM award is a beacon of hope and inspiration for the people to give their best to make a difference in the country or in their communities.

“I am privileged to congratulate the seven awardees of the TOYM. In a country that is beset by disasters and disease today, despair and desperation can easily set in that is why the TYOP is a beacon of hope and inspiration to make sure that we are able to realize that in having a work ethic, in having an ambition and making sure that we have values, some of us will be recognized,” he said in voting to adopt Senate Resolution No, 621.

Gordon further said this year’s awardees, as well as all past recipients, are not just watchers or spectators, but they are leaders whose efforts in their various fields made distinguished contributions to the country and fellow Filipino countrymen;

“Hindi lang po qualifications ‘yan, ‘yan po ay kakayahan at pinakitang gilas o yabang - na pinakitang they are not cogs in the wheel, they are really not just watchers or spectators. The TOYP shows these awardees are leaders, not watchers. They make a difference. And that is all that matters. In altum vola – Fly high Philippines!” he commended.

This year’s awardees include: Hon. Victor Ma. Regis Nubia Sotto, City Mayor, Pasig City Government (Government Service); Capt. Ron Tendido Villarosa Jr., Special Forces Regiment (Airborne), Armed Forces of the Philippines (Community Development/Military Service); Edgar Tolentino Elago, Master Teacher 1, Department of Education (Community Development/Education).

The other recipients were: lawyer Lesley Jeanne Yu Cordero, Senior Disaster Risk Management Specialist, The World Bank (Political And Social Sciences); Dr. Raymond Francis Rapal Sarmiento, Director, National Telehealth Center, UP Manila-NIH (Medicine); David Lopez Almirol Jr., Founder and CEO, Multiysis Technologies Corp. (Science Technology And Engineering); and George Hagan Royeca, Co-Founder, DBDYC Inc. ANGKAS (Business  Entrepreneurship In Pioneering Industries).