(PAGASA 24-HOUR PUBLIC WEATHER FORECAST as of Saturday, 23 October 2021) At 3:00 AM today, the Low Pressure Area (LPA) was estimated based on all available data at 75 km Southeast of Tacloban City, Leyte (10.7°N, 125.4°E) embedded along the Intertropical Convergence Zone (ITCZ) affecting Palawan, Visayas, and Mindanao. Meanwhile, another Low Pressure Area (LPA) was estimated based on all available data at 100 km West Southwest of Dipolog City, Zamboanga del Norte (8.3°N, 122.5°E). Caraga Region will have Partly cloudy to cloudy skies with isolated rainshowers or thunderstorms due to ITCZ / Localized thunderstorms. Possible flash floods or landslides during severe thunderstorms. Light to Moderate winds coming Northeast to Northwest will prevail with Slight to Moderate seas / (0.6 to 2.5 meters).

Wednesday, September 16, 2020

Caraga RTF-ELCAC eyes establishment of public schools in insurgency-affected areas in SurSur

By Rhea C. Mendez

BUTUAN CITY, Sept. 16 (PIA) – The Caraga Regional Task Force to End Local Communist Armed Conflict (RTF-ELCAC) eyes the establishment of public schools in insurgency-affected areas in the province of Surigao del Sur to replace the now-closed Tribal Filipino Program of Surigao del Sur (TRIFPSS) and the Alternative Learning Center for Agricultural and Livelihood Development (ALCADEV).

The TRIFPSS and ALCADEV are private institutions operating as private schools in the eleven (11) barangays across the towns of Marihatag, Lianga, Tago, San Agustin, and San Miguel. Said schools were closed due to the lack of permit from the Department of Education (DepEd).

Two of the 11 schools located at Sitio Simowao, Brgy. Diatagon in Lianga and Sitio Lucnodon, Brgy. Mahaba in Marihatag have already submitted documentary requirements for the establishment of DepEd-accredited schools, DepEd Caraga regional director Francis Cesar Bringas said during the recent RTF-ELCAC technical working group (TWG) virtual meeting.

Construction for a classroom building in the said areas began in March of this year through the joint efforts of the Philippine Army’s (PA) Engineering Brigade and the municipal governments of Lianga and Marihatag, under the supervision of the education department and the provincial government of Surigao del Sur. Financial support was provided by the Social Development Committee of the Caraga Regional Development Council (RDC) and the provincial government.

To help expedite the establishment of the much-needed schools in the nine remaining areas, the RTF-ELCAC TWG issued Resolution No. 1, Series of 2020, “Requesting the Department of Environment and Natural Resources-Caraga to Donate to the Province of Surigao del Sur the Confiscated Logs and Lumber to be Used in the Construction of Indigenous Peoples (IP) Schools and the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority to Facilitate the Fabrication of Tables and Chairs for the Nine (9) IP Schools in Surigao del Sur”.

In addition, the same TWG issued Resolution No. 2, Series of 2020, “Enjoining the Municipal Mayors of Lianga, Tago, Marihatag and San Miguel, Surigao Del Sur to Identify Possible Sites for the Establishment of Indigenous Peoples (IP) Schools in the Nine (9) Conflict-Affected Barangays”. (NEDA Caraga/DMNR/PIA-Caraga)