(PAGASA 24-HOUR PUBLIC WEATHER FORECAST as of Monday, 19 April 2021) At 3:00 AM today, the center of the eye of Typhoon "BISING" {SURIGAE} was located based on all available data at 250 km East of Virac, Catanduanes (14.0°N, 126.5°E) with maximum sustained winds of 195 km/h near the center and gustiness of up to 240 km/h. It is moving North Northwestward at 10 km/h. Caraga Region will experience cloudy skies with scattered rainshowers and thunderstorm due to TY Bising. Possible flash floods or landslides during moderate to heavy rains. Light to moderate winds from Northwest to Southwest will prevail over the region with slight to moderate seas/ (0.6 to 2.5 meters).

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

SP supports declaration of AgNor tourism sites

By Aimee B. Sienes

BUTUAN CITY, Aug. 1 - The provincial legislators strongly supported the move of Agusan del Norte Cong. Erlpe John M. Amante in Congress for the passage of house bills seeking the declaration of tourism sites in the province of Agusan del Norte.

This was manifested through Sanggunian Resolution No. 200-2017, authored by Provincial Board Member Salutario B. Cuasito, which was recently approved by the Sangguniang Panlalawigan during its 49th Regular Session, declaring four tourism sites in the province, namely: Lantawan Ecopark in the municipality of Kitcharao, Mapaso Hot and Cold Springs in the municipality of Santiago, Punta Diwata in the municipality of Carmen, and Tagnote Falls - Mt. Hilong-Hilong Park in the municipality of Remedios T. Romualdez, all of Agusan del Norte under House Bill Nos. 1406, 1407, 1408 and 1409, respectively.

It was known that the province has no enough funds for the full development of the tourism sites. “Due to the limited budget at the municipal and provincial levels, these identified potential tourism sites of the province lack necessary infrastructure support facilities to fully develop the area into a full blown tourism destinations in the country," said Cuasito.

The provincial officials believed that through these bills, the national government through the Department of Tourism and the Tourism Infrastructure and Enterprise Zone Authority, will be able to provide supplementary technical and funding assistance for the full development and maximization of the potentials of these tourism sites and attractions in the province that will promote the local and country’s tourism industry.

Hopes are high that with the declaration of these tourism sites, there would be more influx of tourists in the province that would help in the increase of income in the municipalities and the province. (LGU-Agusan del Norte/PIA-Agusan del Norte)

2 Caraga cops cited for good community relations

By PSupt Martin M. Gamba

BUTUAN CITY, Aug. 1 - The month-long 22nd Police Community Relations Month culminated on Monday as nine PNP members including two Caraga cops were awarded in recognition of their individual achievements that promoted and strengthened police-community partnership.

During the Monday Flag Raising ceremony at the Philippine National Police, National Headquarters, Camp Crame, Quezon City, nine cops from different regions across the country received their respective awards after being selected outstanding performers at the national level for the 22nd PCR Month.

Chief PNP Rolando Dela Rosa and PCSupt. Noel Constantino, Directorate of PCR presented awards and recognition to the deserving PNP offices, units, personnel and private individuals who have initiated “Best Practices” that promoted and strengthened police-community partnership and greatly contributed to the overall peace and development initiatives in their respective areas of responsibility.

Police Senior Inspector Tessiel Moleta, assigned to Surigao City Police Station, was given the Outstanding Junior Police Commissioned Officer award while PO2 Christine Taub of Agusan del Norte Police Provincial Office was adjudged as the Outstanding Junior Police Non-Commissioned Officer.     

“These awardees from Police Regional Office 13 exemplify the quality of the police officers in Caraga and their commitment to serve the community,” PRO 13 Regional Director PCSupt. Rolando B Felix said. (PNP-Caraga/PIA-Caraga)