(PAGASA 24-HOUR PUBLIC WEATHER FORECAST as of Tuesday, 24 May 2022) Southwest Monsoon affecting the western section of Luzon. Localized thunderstorms affecting Mindanao and the rest of the country. The entire Caraga region will experience Partly cloudy to cloudy skies with isolated rainshowers or thunderstorms due to Localized Thunderstorms. Possible flash floods or landslides during severe thunderstorms. Light to moderate winds coming from Southeast to South will prevail with slight to moderate seas (0.6 to 2.1 meters).

PIA News Service - Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Dengue cases in Caraga up by 74% in first 2 months of 2013 - DOH

By Robert E. Roperos

BUTUAN CITY, March 5 (PIA) -- A total of 396 suspected dengue cases were admitted to different disease reporting units in Caraga Region from January 1 to February 23. This is 74 percent higher compared to last year’s cases, recorded at 227.

According to Dr. Gerna Manatad, chief of Regional Epidemiology and Surveillance Unit (RESU) of the Department of Health-Center for Health Development (DOH-CHD)-Caraga, ages of cases ranged from less than one month old to 82 years old.

She added majority of cases were males which comprises 55 percent of the total cases, while 43 percent of these cases belonged to 0 to 10 years age group.

In Region 13, Butuan City was recorded to have the highest number of cases with 164, followed by Agusan del Sur and Surigao del Norte-58; Surigao City-42; Agusan del Norte-21; Bayugan City-18; Bislig City-12; Cabadbaran City-11; province of Dinagat Islands and Surigao del Sur with six cases each.

Meanwhile, Dr. Manatad said a total of six dengue deaths were reported from the different disease reporting units region-wide. These came from barangays Doongan, Tungao, Taligaman, Pangabugan, and Pagtapatan in this city; and in Brgy. Poblacion Bayugan City, Agusan del Sur.

The DOH official said dengue fever and the more severe form, dengue hemorrhagic fever, are caused by any of the four serotypes of dengue virus (1, 2, 3, and 4).

The mosquito vectors: Female Aedes aegypti and Aedes albopictus breed in small collections of clean water such as storage tanks, cisterns, flower vases, and backyard litter. Its incubation period is from three to 14 days, but commonly from four to seven days.

The life cycle of female aedes mosquito undergoes four life stages: egg, larva, pupa, and adult. An egg becomes an adult mosquito after eight to 12 days.

The adult female mosquito bites throughout the day with peaks: two hours after sunrise and two hours before sundown. It actively bites at 26°C, largely bites at 26-35°C, and 40°C is lethal.

These mosquitoes prefer to bite those with low moisture output because they are attracted to warmer skin especially those who are moving or active persons. “This is the reason why the most affected population by dengue are those within the 0-10 years old age group since this age group are active (e.g. playing) that attract female Aedis,” Manatad said.

As part of the advocacy program of the agency, DOH is intensifying its 4S against Dengue Program. Dr. Manatad said the program aims to reduce morbidity and mortality from the dengue infection by preventing the transmission of the virus from the mosquito vector to human.

The 4S include: Search and destroy possible breeding sites of mosquitoes; Self-Protection; Seek early consultation; and Say no to indiscriminate fogging.

Manatad likewise advised the community to have themselves checked by a physician or health worker for two days fever to further avoid deadly effect of dengue. (RER/PIA-Caraga)

Cebuano news: Presidente Aquino nangulo sa ika- 27 anibersaryo sa Presidential Security Group

Ni Susil D. Ragas

SURIGAO CITY, March 5 (PIA) -- Gipangulohan ni Presidente Aquino ang awarding ceremonies atol sa ika-27th founding anniversary sa Presidential Security Groups didto sa headquarters niini sa Malacanang Park, Manila kagahapon.

Ang miuban sa Presidente mao sila Defense Secretary Voltaire Gazmin, PSG Commander Brigadier General Ramon Mateo Dizon, ug mga opisyales sa national ug local nga ahensya sa gobyerno nga gipangulohan ni Manila Mayor Alfredo Lim.

Gipangulohan sa Presidente ang paghatag og mga plaques of recognition ngadto sa mga PSG awardees sa tuig 2012 lakip usab ang paghatag og mga citations ngadto sa mga pribadong indibidwal alang sa ilang walay puas nga pagsuporta ngadto sa PSG.

Ang Best PSG Personnel alng sa tuig 2012 mao sila: Major Ian Noel P. Ignes, Organic Officer of the Year (Field Grade Category); Lieutenant Junior Grade (LTJG) John C. Lobaton, Organic Officer of the Year (Company Grade Category); Lieutenant Colonel Ray Claudio R. Abaya, Operational Control (OPCON) Officer of the Year (Field Grade Category); Lieutenant Crisanto A. Anas, OPCON Officer of the Year (Company Grade Category); Master Sergeant Jonard M. Delima, Organic Enlisted Personnel of the Year (Senior NCO Category);

Staff Sergeant Ricky J. Gonzales, Organic Enlisted Personnel of the Year (Junior NCO Category); Technical Sergeant Roland G. Macalma, OPCON Officer of the Year (Senior NCO Category), Sgt. Michael C. Cabanes, OPCON Enlisted Personnel of the Year (Junior (NCO Category) ug Registered Nurse Myra G. Rocio, Civilian Employee of the Year.

Mihatagan usab ang PSG og Plaque of Recognition ngadto kang Cabinet Secretary Jose Rene Almendras, Phividec Industrial Authority Administrator Leo Magno, Development Academy of the Philippines President ug Chief Executive Officer Antonio D. Kalaw Jr. Tanduay Distillers Inc. President ug Chief Executive Officer Wilson Young ug Sonny Guevarra, sa Alcatel Philippines.

Isip pagpakita sa ilang dakong pasalamat ngadto sa Presidente ang PSG mihatag og usa ka memento isip simbolo sa saad sa PSG nga protektahan ang Presidente sa Republika sa Pilipinas.

Ang PSG gimugna niadtong Marso 1897 aron protektahan si General Emilio Aguinaldo, nga maoy Presidente sa rebolusyonaryong gobyerno.

Sukad niadto, niagi na kini og daghang pag-usab sa ngalan ubos sa nag sunod nga mga Presidente sama sa: Malacañang Guards (President Quezon), Presidential Guards (President Osmeña), Malacañang Secret Agents (President Quirino), Presidential Security Force (President Garcia), ug Presidential Security Agency (President Diosdado Macapagal).

Ug niadtong 1986, gibungkad ni anheng Presidente Corazon Aquino ang Presidential Security Command nga maoy nagselbi kang kanhe Presidente Ferdinand Marcos, ug gipuli niini ang yagpis ra nga Presidential Security Group diin ang hepe niini mao si Colonel Voltaire Gazmin. (RER/SDR/PIA-Surigao del Norte)